World Cup 2014: #VivaCostaRica

Those that know me well, know that I have never really been immersed in a sport. I’m more of a Zumba/Dancer kinda girl that only roots for a team when I have some type of connection to it. In my lifetime, that has only included the UF Gators, GSU Panthers, ATL Falcons, and the Costa Rican National soccer team. Every four years, I get excited about futból (a.k.a soccer) but this 2014 World Cup was different.

Not being in Costa Rica to watch each exciting and stressful game, has created this extreme sense of national pride, that I have never felt before. I have never cried over a team winning or loosing, and I have never been this invested in our soccer team. But being the underdog, proving everyone wrong, and joining from a distance the 4.5 million Ticos that proudly believed and supported our team, made this World Cup an amazing life experience…yes, even from Atlanta.

I am so proud of my country and our Selección Nacional! Thank you Sele for the happiness, excitement, pride, togetherness, nerves, and tears you gave us. Thank you to all my friends and family for the support I personally got, and thank you to everyone that supported our team.

Viva-Costa-Rica

Leave a Comment

