H1B to Green Card Checklist

It’s done! I mailed my application for permanent residence (a.k.a. green card) on Monday and now we are just crossing our fingers and waiting. When I started this process, it was hard finding helpful guidance outside the USCIS  instructions, so I came up with this checklist which I also included in the application’s cover letter. Hope it helps. Good luck!

I-130 Petition for Alien Relative Form

  • G-1145 e-Notification Application
  • Personal check in the amount of $420
  • G-325A Forms (Petitioner and Beneficiary)
  • Passport Style Photos (Petitioner and Beneficiary) and Photo Receipt
  • Copy of Birth Certificate and Biographical Page US Passport (Petitioner)
  • Copy of Biographical Page Costa Rican Passport (Beneficiary)
  • Copy of Marriage Certificate
  • Copy of e-statement from joint checking and joint savings bank accounts (Relationship Evidence)
  • Utility Company Receipt (Relationship Evidence)
  • Marriage Workshop Completion Certificate (Relationship Evidence)
  • Copies of last three years vehicle registrations (Relationship/Residence Evidence)
  • Photos of our relationship from June 2010 to present. (Relationship Evidence)

I-485 Adjustment of Status Form

  • G-1145 e-Notification Application
  • Personal check in the amount of $1,070 ($985 I-485 and $85 Biometric Services Fee)
  • G-325A Form
  • Passport Style Photos (2) and Photo Receipt
  • Copy of Biographical Page  and H1B Visa Page on Costa Rican Passport
  • Copy of Birth Certificate and Certified Translation
  • I-693 Report of Medical Examination and Vaccination Record (Sealed Envelope)
  • Copy of Marriage Certificate
  • I-864 Affidavit of Support
    • Sponsor Recent Paystubs (6) and Letter from Employer
    • Sponsor 2013 Federal Tax Return and 2013 W2 From

I-765 Employment Authorization Form

  • G-1145 e-Notification Application
  • Passport Style Photos (2) and Photo Receipt
  • Copy of Biographical Page Costa Rican Passport
  • Copy of Previous Employment Authorization: Last EAD Card (OPT), H1B Visa on Passport, H1B Approval Letter, and I-94
  • Copy of Marriage Certificate
  • Employment Verification Letter and Resume

[Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer. Please read ALL instructions. Every case is different. If you have any questions please contact a lawyer, I’m not an expert in the field… I’m just sharing my experience.]

One thought on “H1B to Green Card Checklist

  1. Pingback: H1B to Green Card Tips | Val Brotherton

Leave a Comment

